I am a woman

I knew it… Nobody had to tell me that

I am a full woman

Isn’t the word enough to shut down all the mystery

About women in our damn society?!

I am a woman…a full woman

Without having a boyfriend

An independent woman without

Being married to a husband

I don’t look for perfection…. I look for satisfaction

I want a good education…

I want someone to flirt with me with an eye wink

or a long, weird stare

I want to feel shy and look away

I want my cheeks to turn into red after this

I don’t want flirting by rape

I don’t want unwanted touches

Or undesirable flirting words

I want a nation of love,

because I represent

the empire of women

I want to put my lipstick on,

because I love its color

I refuse to let men define what beauty is

I know that beauty is education

Beauty is meditation

Beauty is gratification

Beauty is learning, improving, changing

Beauty is acceptance, accomplishment

Beauty is bravery, is balance

Beauty is inspiration and goodness

Beauty is indefinable

I refuse to let men define what beauty is

I object to let men decide what dress should I wear,

the color of my heels…wait,

what if I want to wear boots instead?

I object to let men decide

if I should gain or lose weight

if I should or shouldn’t shave my arm’s hair

if I should wear baggy or tight

I refuse to let men shape

the desirable form of a woman

I am a full woman with curly or straight hair

I am a full woman with or without makeup

I am a full woman with 90 pounds

A full woman with 44 pounds

I am a full woman… I am worthy

I don’t need men to make feel safe

I feel secure when I eat popcorn and watch SpongeBob at 3:30am

My beauty is cities within countries,

mountains men cannot and will not know how to climb!

My beauty is a deep sea with its sharks and darkness

My beauty is the sun embracing the earth after a long winter

My beauty is a heavy winter,

a sunny summer and an orange autumn

Women are space for creativity

They are mothers, sisters, artists, teachers, poets, musicians, queens and victims!

Yes…. Victims of society’s standards

No man has any standards to follow!

Why should we ( women) follow any?

If you’re a woman… feel it

Feel the beauty of your hair flicking of your shoulder

Feel your soft hands, your big heart, nails,

arms, legs, face, lips

Feel and enjoy being a woman,

because you’re a woman

2 comments

  1. Rima · August 11, 2015

    Beautiful! So beautifully worded, so amazingly written! 😍 “my beauty is cities within countries, mountains men cannot and will not know how to climb.” Brilliant, Haleema❤️😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

